According to reports out of Roswell, the City Council has approved of street closures for the seventh annual Roswell Wine Festival on Sunday, October 6th.
Public events like this (those that involve alcohol and crowds) tend to be heavily monitored by law enforcement. As an Alpharetta Roswell DUI Lawyer, I always recommend that if you plan on drinking at an event always have a plan to get home afterwards. One that does not involve you driving and driving.
Laws regarding driving under the influence in the state of Georgia are very strict. In fact - we have some of the strictest laws regarding DUI in the country.
In today's post, I will outline the law behind DUI in Roswell Alpharetta.
DUI Law in Alpharetta Roswell
Driving under the influence, or more commonly referred to as DUI, is defined by Georgia Law in O.C.G.A. §40-6-391 as:
A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle while:
(1) Under the influence of alcohol to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive;
(2) Under the influence of any drug to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive;
(3) Under the intentional influence of any glue, aerosol, or other toxic vapor to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive;
(4) Under the combined influence of any two or more of the substances specified in paragraphs (1) through (3) of this subsection to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive;
(5) The person's alcohol concentration is 0.08 grams or more at any time within three hours after such driving or being in actual physical control from alcohol consumed before such driving or being in actual physical control ended; or
(6) Subject to the provisions of subsection (b) of this Code section, there is any amount of marijuana or a controlled substance, as defined in Code Section 16-13-21, present in the person's blood or urine, or both, including the metabolites and derivatives of each or both without regard to whether or not any alcohol is present in the person's breath or blood.
Roswell Alpharetta DUI Penalties are harsh - even for a first time DUI. The penalties for a first time DUI conviction can include: 12 months of probation, a minimum fine of $300, between 1-10 days of jail time, at least 40 hours of community service, substance abuse counseling, DUI Risk Reduction School, MADD Victim Impact Panel, and a Drivers License suspension.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today. We can help with your case now.